US Senate committee approves resolution recognizing Russia as state sponsor of terrorism

At the moment, this list includes four countries: Cuba, North Korea, Iran and Syria.

The US Senate wants to recognize the Russian Federation as a sponsor of terrorism / photo

The US Senate Committee on Foreign Relations approved a resolution to include Russia in the list of countries supporting terrorism.

The resolution was proposed by Republican Senator Lindsey Graham on May 9, and supported by Democratic Senator Richard Blumenthal. Voice of America.

The final decision to recognize Russia as a state sponsor of terrorism must be made by the administration of President Joe Biden.

“The committee’s resolution calls on the administration [сделать это]but in fact Russia has not yet been identified as a state sponsor of terrorism,” said Republican Senator Chris Koons.

Among the arguments for recognizing Russia as a state supporting terrorism, senators name:

✔️ Putin’s encouragement of acts of international terrorism against political opponents and nation-states;

✔️ campaign of terror against civilians during the Second Chechen War;

✔️ support for militants and acts of violence against Ukrainian civilians since 2014;

✔️ strikes on civilians in Syria;

✔️ material support of the authorities of the country sponsoring terrorism Syria;

✔️ subversive activities of mercenaries around the world, including Wagner PMCs in Ukraine, Syria, Sudan and Libya;

✔️ committing war crimes in Chechnya, Georgia, Syria and Ukraine, which led to the death of countless civilians;

✔️ numerous mass executions of civilians and attempts to hide their crimes with mass graves throughout Ukraine and more.

“There is no doubt that Russia, led by Vladimir Putin, is a state sponsor of terrorism. What he did when he ordered the invasion of Ukraine was a terrorist act. He is a war criminal and he is responsible for every crime that was done on his behalf,” Idaho Republican Senator James Risch said.

According to him, in the general vote in the Senate, the resolution “will receive a significant number of votes.” “I believe that the Secretary of State will be very attentive to the consideration [этого вопроса]”Rish added.

It is noted that the US State Department lists states that, in the opinion of the Secretary of State, have repeatedly supported terrorist acts around the world on the list of countries sponsoring terrorism.

Sanctions that are imposed on such states include restrictions on receiving assistance from the United States, a ban on the export and sale of defense products, controls on the export of dual-use goods, various financial and other restrictions.

At the moment, this list includes four countries: Cuba, North Korea, Iran and Syria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker